Home

The court document says that the state of New York

has found me to be abandoned by one, or both parents.

 

The court states that it is not in my best interest to

be removed from the United States, though they

will probably forget my name when my body is found

dead on a sidewalk, another Black fag shot down.

 

Thank you for the protection New York,

I’ll smile harder next time I see the NYPD

approaching me outside the subway station.

 

 

 

Alan Pelaez Lopez is an Afro-Indigenous writer, visual artist and activist from Oaxaca, Mexico. Having lived undocumented in the United States for almost seventeen years, writing has become a tool where Alan can contest notions of illegality, undocumentedness, and non-existence. You can read more of Alan’s work on their website, and at Everyday Feminism.