Home

The morning of Election Day 2016 I run into my writing teacher and ask if I should bring a bottle of champagne to writing class. We discuss the legality of this and decide on Martinelli’s. I make brownies. By the time I leave the house at six fifty in the evening, the map is red, more red and most red. I arrive at class. My classmates haven’t been following the results, because it’s still too early in California. I put brownies on the table.

“Have one – this may be the last sweet moment you have in four years.”

 

 

 

Maria Ramos-Chertok is a writer, workshop leader and coach who facilitates The Butterfly Series, a writing and creative arts workshop for women who want to explore what’s next in their life journey. thebutterflyseries.com. She lives in the blue bubble of the San Francisco Bay Area. She is finalizing her debut novel, Rosie’s Blues, a story inspired by the experience of her mother opening their family home in Hackensack, New Jersey as a shelter for battered women and childrenShe is also working on her next book, Jobs: Life Lessons through Paystubs.
mariaramoschertok.comlinkedin.com/in/mariadianaramosfacebook.com/maria.ramoschertok.

